Unit Coding and Staging System


Each unit of study has an eight-digit alpha and numerical code with five characters before and three after a decimal point. The first two alpha codes identify the area of study:

AR(Art) BB (Biblical Studies) CN(Counselling) ED(Education) EN (English) HS (History) LN (Literature/Language) MN(Ministry) MS(Mission Studies) MT (Mathematics) PH (Philosophy) PR (Practicum/Field Ed) PS(Psychology) TH (Theology)

The first digit (third character) indicates the AQF level of a unit, i.e. the position of a unit in a course, hence:

500-599 units are set at AQF Level 5 are foundational and do not normally have pre-requisites;

600-699 units are set at AQF Level 6 normally have pre-requisites and build on '500' units;

700-799 units are set at AQF Level 7 normally have '600' units as pre-requisites

800-899 units are set at AQF level 8 (Graduate Certificate and Graduate Diploma)

900-999 units are set at AQF level 9 (Masters)

Within each stream, the second and third digits (fourth and fifth characters) are a guide to unit content. The first digit following the decimal point indicates the level of a unit. The second and third digit follow the decimal point indicates the number of credit points. Thus, code BB101.306 can be interpreted as follows:

BB101.306 = Biblical studies area

BB501.306 = level 5 (1st year Bachelors award/Diploma level study)

BB101.306= foundational biblical Studies

BB101.306 = level 3 (no longer used)

BB1101.306= 6 credit points

When referring to a unit within a particular course, the first five characters prior to the decimal point alone may be used since the course determines the level of the unit (e.g. all bachelor courses include only level 3 units).